



Dr. Vladislav KRZYZANEK
President



Prof. Dr. Catherine VENIEN-BRYAN
EMS General Secretary



## Dear colleagues,

Many of us had the privilege of attending the 17th European Microscopy Congress, EMC2024 (<a href="https://emc2024.eu/">https://emc2024.eu/</a>), held in Copenhagen from August 25-30, 2024. EMC2024 attracted approximately 2,500 participants from 51 countries worldwide, providing a platform for researchers at all career stages from both academia and industry to share their insights. In addition to a top-tier international and multidisciplinary conference, EMC2024 featured Europe's largest exhibition dedicated to microscopy. The congress also offered numerous training sessions and scientific activities, highlighting the vibrancy of European research.

Due to a well-structured scientific program and an impressive exhibition area featuring numerous appealing company booths, the conference was highly appreciated by the delegates. We would like to sincerely thank the exhibitors for their dedication and support, and the attendees for their participation and valuable scientific contributions.



On August 26, 2024, the EMS Executive Board convened for the final time in its 2020-2024 term. During this meeting, many of the society's key activities and issues were discussed, evaluated, and concluded. On August 27, 2024, the EM award ceremony took place, where the two recipients were honoured and presented their work. Quentin RAMASSE (France) from the University of Leeds, UK, received the Physical/Materials Sciences and Optics award, while Tomáš ČÍŽMÁR (Czech Republic) from Institute of Scientific Instruments of CAS, Brno, Czech Republic and from Friedrich-Schiller University Jena, Germany, was awarded the Life Sciences prize. At the EMS General Council on August 28, 2024, the proposal for the next venue of the European Microscopy Congress in 2028 was presented, with Barcelona and Brno as the final bidding destinations. The General Council selected Barcelona as the host city for EMC2028. We eagerly look forward to this event and hope to see you all there!



The EMS General Assembly was held on August 29, 2024, with over 180 EMS members in attendance. The presidential and financial reports were approved, the changes in the constitution were approved and Klaus Qvortrup gave a brief update on EMC 2024.

The members also ratified the new EMS Executive Board, which took office following EMC 2028. The 14 members of the new Executive Board are listed below:

- President: Vladislav KRZYZANEK (Brno, Czech Republic)
- General Secretary: Catherine VENIEN-BRYAN (Paris, France)
- Treasurer: Philippe LECLÈRE (Mons, Belgium)
- Members: Agnes KITTEL (Budapest, Hungary), Lewys JONES (Dublin, Ireland), Thomas MÜLLER-REICHERT (Dresden, Germany), Saso STURM (Ljubljana, Slovenia), Servet TURAN (Eskişehir, Turkey), Paul VERKADE (Bristol, United Kingdom), Igor WEBER (Zagreb, Croatia)
- The following people being ex-officio members of the Executive Board:
- Past-president: José María VALPUESTA (Madrid, Spain)
- Chair EMC2024: Klaus QVORTRUP (Copenhagen, Denmark)
- Chair EMC2028: Francesca PEIRÓ MARTÍNEZ (Barcelona, Spain)
- ECMA representative: Marc PEETERS (Thermo Fisher Scientific)

The proposed Board being constituted of 7# LS and 5# MS.



The EMS Outstanding Paper Award (OPA) ceremony took place following the general Assembly. The winners of the papers in the three categories presented their work and received the prize:

- Júlia Ferrer Ortas (France) for Instrumentation and Technique Development
- · Shotaro Otsuka (Austria) for Life Science
- Matteo Monai\* (Netherlands), Kellie Jenkinson\*(Belgium), Angela E. M. Melcherts\* (Netherlands) for Materials Science
- \* Equal contribution



Reports of the meeting, EM award winning lectures, OPAs and EMS scholarships will be published in the next EMS Yearbook in 2025. We encourage all EMS members to send us reports to be included in this exciting new booklet!



On Thursday evening, the conference dinner at the Bella Center received about 800 guests, who enjoyed a three-course meal accompanied by a full jazz big band in the style of Sinatra. The dance floor soon filled with enthusiastic conference participants. Leaving members of the EMS Board were honoured with commemorative plaques in recognition of their valuable contributions to the society.

As we conclude this newsletter, we would like to extend our sincere thanks to Past-President José María VALPUESTA for his invaluable contributions as President, to Virginie SERIN for her dedicated support as General Secretary, and to Christian SCHOEFER for his outstanding work as Treasurer over the past years. We also wish to recognize all other departing members for their service. We are confident that their expertise will continue to benefit the new Board moving forward.

## Prof. Dr. Catherine VENIEN-BRYAN

Sorbonne Université Institut de Minéralogie, Physique des Matériaux et Cosmochimie IMPMC (UMR7590) 4 place Jussieu, F-75252 Paris CEDEX 05, France eMail: secr@eurmicsoc.org

## Dr. Vladislav KRZYZANEK

Institute of Scientific Instruments of the Czech Academy of Sciences Kralovopolska 147, CZ-61200 Brno, Czech Republic eMail: krzyzanek@isibrno.cz